Invited speakers

The following speakers have confirmed to provide invited talks at the workshop. The list will be continuously updated.

  • Gregory Abadias (Université de Pointiers, Laboratoire de Métallurgie Physique)
    “Overarching growth manipulation strategies of ultrathin metal films from real-time diagnostics”
  • Christoph Gammer (ÖAW Austrian Academy of Science - Erich Schmid Institute of Materials Science)
    “Quantifying strain in complex materials using TEM nanodiffraction”
  • Grzegorz Greczynski (Linköping University, Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology (IFM), Thin Film Physics (TUNNF)) 
    “Recent advances in the thin film analysis by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy”
  • Rainer Hahn (TU Wien, Austria)
    "Fracture and fatigue resistance of protective coatings by combined micromechanical- and X-ray nanodiffraction methods"
  • ​​​​Marcus Hans (RWTH Aachen University, Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffchemie)
    “Compositional characterization at the nanometer scale – Advances and limitations of atom probe tomography”
  • Jozef Keckes (Montanuniversität Leoben, Lehrstuhl für Materialphysik)
    “Cross-sectional X-ray nanodiffraction analysis of thin films”
  • ​​​​​Daniel Kiener (Montanuniversität Leoben, Lehrstuhl für Materialphysik)
    “Toughening brittle materials: seeing interface engineering at work”
  • Johann Michler (Empa – Materials Science and Technology)
    “Understanding fracture and plasticity of thin films under extreme conditions through recent advances in nanomechanical testing methods”
  • Warren Oliver (KLA Instruments)
    „Challenges and opportunities for high strain rate nanoindentation testing”
  • Per Persson (Linköping Univeristy, Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology (IFM))
    “Investigating advanced functional materials by state-of-the-art electron microscopy”
  • Ivan Petrov (University of Illionis at Urbana Champaign, USA)
    “In-situ atomistic studies of thin film growth”
  • Daniel Primetzhofer (Uppsala University, Department of Physics and Astronomy)
    „Accurate composition depth profiling of light elements using ion beams – what can be achieved?”
  • Bernhard Sartory (Materials Center Leoben Forschungs GmbH)
    “Combined in-situ SEM methods for strain and stress evaluation”
  • Michael Tkadletz (Montanuniversität Leoben, Lehrstuhl für Funktionale Werkstoffe und Werkstoffsysteme)
    „Recent advances in atom probe specimen preparation”
  • Markus Winkler (Fraunhofer-Institut für Physikalische Messtechnik IPM)
    „Thermal conductivity of thin films – basics and measurement methods”